Michelin Star Dim Sum in Hong Kong

Recently, I had my first experience at a Michelin-starred restaurant and I had it in a take-out version while sitting on the roof of the IFC mall in Central Hong Kong.

Tim Ho Wan is a dim sum place in Hong Kong famous for cha siu bao (baked bbq pork buns), a classic dish in Cantonese dim sum. I was in Hong Kong recently for a wedding and I ended up staying an extra night there due to the fact that I couldn’t get a bus ticket home! But, the silver lining of that fiasco was that I got to make a trip over to Central to get dim sum take out from Tim Ho Wan.

To be honest, I wasn’t in love with the cha siu bao at Tim Ho Wan. It was more better than other cha siu bao because of it’s crisp buttery crust and the fact that each bun was light and the bread wasn’t thick and overpowering. But the outside was glazed, practically coated in sugar and that combined with the sweetness of the pork on the inside made me feel like I was eating something more akin to a jelly donut than a pork bun.

I would, however, eat there again. image (20)

image (21)

Leave a Reply

