Photo Essay: 자갈치시장 (Jagalchi Market)

If you can believe it, I almost spent an entire year in South Korea without ever visiting it’s southern port town and second biggest city Busan.

“It’s not that big of a deal,” people told me. “There’s the beach, but you’ve seen beaches, right? Other than that, it looks like every other city in Korea,” they told me.

You could miss it, and you wouldn’t be missing a thing, they said.

Well, I kinda think they were wrong.

Now, I saw Haeundae beach and it’s true, it didn’t really “wow” me but then again, I prefer quiet rural beaches to the busy meat market, sardine-style, community tanning beds that people seem driven to flock to. But Haeundae beach isn’t all that Busan has to offer. Since I didn’t do an extensive tour of Busan, I can’t categorize EVERYTHING the city has to offer. But I can offer you this photo essay on 자갈치시장 (Jagalchi Market).

IMG_8814.JPG

IMG_8813.JPG

IMG_8812.JPG

IMG_8811.JPG

IMG_8815.JPG

IMG_8817.JPG

IMG_8816.JPG

IMG_8818.JPG

IMG_8824.JPG

IMG_8820.JPG

IMG_8821.JPG

IMG_8823.JPG

IMG_8826.JPG

IMG_8825.JPG

IMG_8829.JPG

IMG_8827.JPG

IMG_8831.JPG

IMG_8832.JPG

IMG_8837.JPG

IMG_8833.JPG

IMG_8841.JPG

IMG_8844.JPG

IMG_8843.JPG

IMG_8840.JPG

IMG_8845.JPG

NOTES ON JAGALCHI MARKET: Of course, if you’re a seafood lover, this is the place to be for you! But even if you’re not (and I’m not really), Jagalchi market still has a lot to offer as far as sights (I saw an octopus crawl out of its tank and slide toward the feet of an approaching customer, see the center of the eighth  picture from the top), sounds, and smells that are hard to beat anywhere else in Korea. If you ARE a seafood lover, you should know that you can pick a fish and have it cooked either at an upstairs restaurant or at a table right behind the stall (see pictures). How fresh is that? 

Also, I have no idea what is with the shark’s head, though I did see hunks of what looked like shark meat so maybe that’s a thing? No idea.

These pictures were all taken on my ipod, so they’re not the best quality. 

IMG_8846.JPG

IMG_8848.JPG

IMG_8849.JPG

IMG_8847.JPG

IMG_8850.JPG

IMG_8852.JPG

IMG_8851.JPG

IMG_8853.JPG

Leave a Reply

