Chuseok Festival

IMG_7259

I think this says something about the moon maybe. Also, that’s a persimmon tree. I do know that.

IMG_7280

Nadia, Lily, and Juliet. Three from my advanced kindergarten class.

IMG_7282

Alice, Lucy, and Erica. Lucy gave me really nice socks for Chuseok. She’s getting an A+.

IMG_7291

Putting the girls in dresses made them docile and photogenic, meanwhile, all my boys wanted to do was wrestle and rip each other’s clothes off. This is Adam and Kai. They’re on-again, off-again best friends in my advanced kindergarten class.

IMG_7302

Waiting patiently to make songpyeon (little steamed rice cakes).

IMG_7304

The raw materials for traditional rice cakes.

IMG_7306

These kids are patient.

IMG_7312

Playing hand games while waiting.

IMG_7314

The rice flour dough is hard from being in the fridge. It’s a lot like play dough. You roll it into a ball, you make a bowl, and then you close the lips of the bowl to make a crescent. The mixture is like a ground up white bean powder. Not as good as the sesame-sugar mixture.

IMG_7334

This girl. I basically made all of her rice cakes for her. Not so good with the fine-motor skills or something like that.

IMG_7338

I had to teach my kids how to make these. Kinda hard since I had never made them before and I only learned by running back and forth to the other classes where the Korean teachers were. Needless to say, my class had the ugliest songpyeon, which doesn’t really matter since they just get steamed and eaten anyways. But still.

IMG_7339

One of my girls wanted to make hers look like Snow-people.

IMG_7316

Making, making…

IMG_7317

Cute little hands…

IMG_7320

So many rice cakes…

IMG_7327

Lucy and Verda.

IMG_7329

Kai and Adam, finally sitting still enough for a picture.

IMG_7349

Walking outside for traditional games…

IMG_7352

This is Bob. Bob always gets distracted by details and he’s always a little apart from the group. I seriously love Bob.

IMG_7353

Bob. Just, you know, smelling the flowers…

IMG_7358

Eric and Tyler. SERIOUS mischief makers in my lower kinder class.

IMG_7373

Helen is our newest student. She is 6 years old (so about 4 or 5 in America) and she does not speak a lick of English. We had to make a whole new Kindergarten class for Helen. Maybe I’ll tell that story in another post. But isn’t she gorgeous?

IMG_7374

Sophie. She’s the quietest in my lower kinder class and she always, always, always finishes all of her food. She walked up to me on the field during all this and said, “Teacher! It’s so hot!” (because it was hot outside and they had on all these layers) and then she proceeded to hug my legs for five minutes. Sophie is a lover, not a fighter. I appreciate that…

IMG_7376

Sophie doing something traditional.

IMG_7388

Adam dressed as a farmer.

IMG_7391

Tug-of-War. That’s my class, the Kiwis along with Helen from the new class. We lost, but we fought valiantly.

IMG_7394

Tug-of-War. That’s Sarah in the front. Golly, she’s a handful.

IMG_7400

Bob throwing javelins or something.

IMG_7405

The Kiwis practicing their traditional fighting skills.

IMG_7411

Adam and Kai and the nonstop wrestling.

IMG_7418

Kai.

IMG_7423

Tug-of-War for two.

IMG_7455

Kids all queued up and Tyler torturing Bob. This is an everyday occurrence. I try to make him stop as often as I can. Also, no idea what happened to this picture.

IMG_7461

Bob and I at lunch right after game time. Everyone was exhausted by lunchtime and I ate SO MUCH spicy mystery tofu.

This week is Chuseok (추석), a major autumn harvest festival in Korea. Basically, this week is Korean Thanksgiving. We only had a two-day work week and nothing was taken too seriously. Most Koreans will be traveling this week to visit parents and grandparents and catch up with family.

Yesterday, we had our school Chuseok festival. I know that most of you don’t exactly know the details about my school, like what ages I teach and my schedule and what-not, and I will post about that later this week. But for now, here are some pictures with captions from our Chuseok holiday.

3 thoughts on “Chuseok Festival

    • Charly, yes they have both Korean and English names. The English names are really just for school and for when they introduce themselves to Westerners. Many Koreans seem to have this deep-seated belief that Westerners cannot pronounce or understand Korean names, so they simply chose a Western name to use. I have mixed feelings on the practice.

Leave a Reply

